Have you been Arrested for assault?
Help is Available 24/7
Schedule Your Free Case Review
Get Started On Your Defense With A Free Consultation
You can be charged with Assault in Arizona for incidents that arise out of many different situations. From a disagreement at a bar, to a family conflict at home or with a neighbor, anytime the police are called out to the scene the involved parties face the possibility of being charged, per A.R.S. 13-1203.
Assault (A.R.S. 13-1203)
In the state of Arizona, “Assault” (A.R.S. 13-1203) occurs when a person either intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes any physical injury to another person; or intentionally places another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury: or knowingly touches another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such a person
Assault/ Domestic Violence
Assault With a deadly weapon
The Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault in Arizona
The penalties are as follows:
- Class 3 misdemeanor: Simple assault is classified as a Class 3 misdemeanor if the alleged offender touched another person with intent to provoke or injure them. A conviction could result in up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.
- Class 2 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 2 misdemeanor if the alleged offender threatened to injure or harm another person. A conviction could result in up to four months in jail and $750 in fines.
- Class 1 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor if the assault resulted in actual physical injuries to another person. A conviction could result in up to six months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
How Domestic Violence Is Defined Under Arizona Law
If the Assault incident involves two (2) people who live together, or the relationship is one of marriage or former marriage or of persons residing or having resided in the same household, then “Domestic Violence” is charged under A.R.S. 13-3601. The Domestic Violence designation carries some serious ramifications in addition to the standard punishment. It can have an impact on child custody proceedings, and you can no longer carry a firearm if a domestic violence conviction is on your record.
Many forms of abuse are included in the definition of domestic violence:
Possible Punishment For Domestic Violence
Arrested or Accused?
Fight Your Criminal Charge by Calling (602) 266-9600
Why You Should Call Now?
If you or a loved one are charged with a criminal offense in Arizona, it’s natural to have a feeling of desperation, of being scared and helpless. A criminal conviction can have life-lasting consequences, so don’t face the weight of the government alone. There’s a lot that the right attorney can do to help you.
With decades of experience to guide you through the process, our criminal defense attorneys will analyze every aspect of your case and defend you in a vigorous and aggressive manner to achieve the best possible outcome.
Contact Us Today!
Phoenix, AZ 85012
4500 S. Lakeshore Dr., Suite 300
Tempe, AZ 85286
Schedule Your Free Case Review